Meal Planning Game Plan

Meal Planning Game Plan

20170101_190157.jpg

Two of my goals in the new year are to be more organized and to get better control of my finances. With those goals in mind, I decided I am going to start meal planning. When I was a kid, my mom meal planned a month at a time… so I thought, “what the heck.”

Yesterday, I sat down and made a list of everything that we eat in our family… with a beef allergy and a couple picky eaters our list is fairly short. After I made my list, I wrote it out on an unlined piece of paper and laminated it using clear contact paper.

Next, I used unlined index cards cut down, hole punched them, and then wrote every meal that was on this list (outside of the sides). Then, I went through and wrote down everything that we need to make each meal (chicken, oil, spices, etc.). Our family of 4 are small eaters, so planning out the meals is pretty easy. For instance, I know that if we are making fried chicken my husband eats two breasts, my son, daughter, and I split the other two… and generally they don’t eat all they are given. Once my listing was done, I put it all together on a ring and then sat with my calendar and started planning.

After I had all of my meals planned for the month, I started my grocery list. My plan is to go shopping on Friday to get the supplies for two weeks worth of meals. Then, in two weeks I will get the supplies for the remainder of the month. I will add into my groceries breakfast foods and my salads for lunch.

My hope is that having this meal plan, and shopping in advance, I can save both time and money, not have the same 4 or 5 meals over and over, and save my sanity a bit.

Do you meal plan? What’s your favorite method? Share it with us here. 

~Aleah

One Comment Add yours

  1. Michele says:

    I love this! Thank you for inspiring me. I will be getting a late start on the organization thing this year but I will get there!

    Like

Leave a Reply

