Background Music Book Review

I was recently given an advanced copy of Background Music by J.R. Rogue in exchange for my honest review. I have read some of her other stuff, and she never disappoints… but, you guys… Background Music. Ack! Gah! OMG!

I don’t even know if I have the right words to describe how wonderful this book was.

I started reading it, and stayed up until 2am the first night, then finished it at 10:30 the following night. I also had to work in between that time. Seriously, I COULD NOT put it down. It is soooooo good.

I was drawn in literally from the first two sentences… “I’ll always remember the background music that played downstairs that night. Those notes will haunt me forever.” By the end of the book, my book was highlighted like a little rainbow and I was wrecked in the most amazing way.

In fact, my comment to her was “I am dead. Completely and utterly gutted. A horrible, sobbing mess. It was so good. I loved it!”

And loved it I did. I read this book almost a month ago, and I still find myself wanting to bring it up in conversation with friends. Rogue made the characters so relatable, and took an incredibly sensitive topic and wrote it in the most beautiful way.

I really appreciated how she wrote the book from three points of view too. Each chapter switched between one of the three main characters – Kat, Reese, and Andrew. It really allowed the reader to see into the minds of each character – which made them so much more relatable and real.

She made living in a small midwestern town seem so quaint and desirable, capturing every aspect perfectly; and by the end of the book, I found myself wishing it wouldn’t end.

Background Music is on pre-order now, so do yourself a favor and grab this book. (The link is below.) 

Buy it. Read it. Tell your friends to buy it. I promise you won’t be disappointed.

Background Music is the second book in a trilogy. Book one, Burning Muses is already out and is just as amazing as Background Music. Here are the links to both books.

Link for Burning Muses: https://books2read.com/u/mvYzzl

PRE-ORDER LINK for Backgroud Music: https://books2read.com/backgroundmusic/

Follow J.R. Rogue on Social Media here:

Facebook

Instagram

Twitter: @jenR501

~Aleah

 

Leave a Reply

