Asian Belle Slaw

20170226_130536.jpg

I’ve never been a fan of coleslaw. I have tried various flavors and types, but I never like them. They are either too sweet and heavy (southern slaw) or too salty and vinegary (yes that’s a word and it describes Asian slaws).

I do however love the slaw in the wonton chicken tacos at Applebee’s. I mean, yes, please. I could eat my weight in those things. However, those have a lot of ingredients in them that leave you with lots of sodium.

So,  I set out to make my own slaw dressing that combined the sweet southern slaw I grew up with and the tart Asian slaws I have recently found. I got a bowl and just started mixing ingredients until it tasted good.

It’s amazing. I think I could easily eat this every day.

Ingredients

2 Cups shredded cabbage

1 cup chopped broccoli

1 cup chopped carrots

3 tbsp real mayonnaise

1/4 tsp mustard

1 tsp low sodium soy sauce

1 tsp balsamic vinegar

2 tbsp honey

2 tbsp milk

1 tsp pepper

1/2 tsp lemon juice

dash each: ginger and dill

 

Mix broccoli, cabbage, and carrots in a bowl and set aside.

Mix remaining ingredients in a separate bowl with a whisk well. Pour over slaw and mix well.

This is great served with baked wonton shells and grilled chicken.

 

Enjoy!

Aleah

 

 

Leave a Reply

